Toshihide Numata Book Prize in Buddhism

To further support the advancement of Buddhist studies in the western world, BDK established the "Toshihide Numata Book Prize in Buddhism" in 2009. The prize contest is coordinated by the Center for Buddhist Studies at the University of California, Berkeley and the winning entry for best academic Buddhist title of the year is selected by an independent committee. The "Toshi Prize" consists of a cash award, a public lecture by the winning author and a panel discussion on the topic of the winning entry, held in Berkeley each year after the winning entry is announced.

For further information, please view UC Berkeley's Center for Buddhist Studies website at

The 2014 Toshi Prize

受賞者: エリック・ブラウン博士(オクラホマ大学)

Awardee : Dr. Erik Braun (University of Oklahoma)

Book Title: The Birth of Insight: Meditation, Modern Buddhism and the Burmese Monk Ledi Sayadaw.

受賞者: ジョーン・ネルソン博士(サンフランシスコ大学)

Awardee : Dr. John K. Nelson

Book Title: Experimental Buddhism: Innovation and Activism in Contemporary Japan

The 2013 Toshi Prize

受賞者: ダニエル・アーノルド博士(シカゴ大学)

Awardee : Dr. Daniel Arnold

Book Title: Brains, Buddhas, and Believing: The Problems of Intentionality in Classical Buddhist and Cognitive-Scientific Philosophy of Mind.

※Japan Special Lecture is available.
Tokyo University
Ryukoku University

The 2011 Toshi Prize

受賞者: トッド・ルイス博士 (ホーリークロス大学) Subarna Man Tuladhar教授

Awardee : Dr. Todd Lewis (College of the Holy Cross)
Prof. Subarna Man Tuladhar

Book Title: Sugata Saurabha: An Epic Poem from Nepal on the Life of the Buddha by Chittadhar Hridaya

The 2010 Toshi Prize

受賞者: ジェームズ・ロブソン博士(ハーバード大学)

Awardee : Dr. James Robson (Harvard University)

Book Title: Power of Place: The Religious Landscape of the Southern Sacred Peak (Nanyue) in Medieval China.

page Top